For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
SILS has a Scientific Advisory Board (SILS-SAB) consisting of Peers from (international) sister Institutes. The SILS-SAB has an advisory role to the Dean of Science, and is called upon whenever the Director feels the need for an independent, external reflection on the past performance and future direction of SILS, like in the process towards the scientific review.

The role of the SILS Scientific Advisory Board (SILS-SAB) is to provide advice to the SILS management on institutional strategy, viability and on past performance and future potential of individual investigators and research programmes. The members of the Board visits SILS on a yearly basis to discuss current affairs and advice on standing issues (if applicable) in the institute or research theme they represent. Moreover, the SILS-SAB supports in-depth reviews of SILS’s research programs during midterm reviews and official visitations and aids SILS management to ensure its programmes meet the highest international standards and achieve optimal scientific impact.

The SILS-SAB is made up from independent experts that cover all research themes from SILS. This means that the SILS-SAB will exist of at least four members and possibly more if that is considered necessary to cover the research themes. There is no representative that can act for all the Underpinning Technologies, so we strive for a mix of experts that can cover the technologies together. Together the SILS-SAB members have a broad scientific expertise and experience with multidisciplinary scientific organisations that meet similar challenges as SILS, for example in funding opportunities or combining science with management and teaching tasks.   

The SILS-SAB comprises the following members:

Committee members

Prof. Barbara Bakker
Medical Systems Biology, Laboratory of Paediatrics
Faculty of Medical Sciences, University Medical Centre Groningen
Groningen, the Netherlands

Prof. Bart Eggen
Section Molecular Neurobiology
University Medical Centre Groningen 
Groningen, the Netherlands

Prof. Peter van Haastert
Department of Cell Biology
Groningen Biomolecular Sciences and Biotechnology Institute, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Groningen, the Netherlands

Prof. Colin Hill
School of Microbiology, APC Microbiome Ireland
University College Cork
Cork, Ireland

Prof. Julia Kehr
Institute of Plant Science and Microbiology
Molecular Plant Genetics, Universität Hamburg
Hamburg, Germany